## ELKHORN PUBLIC SCHOOLS MINUTES OF BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING March 10, 2025

The Regular Meeting of the Elkhorn Public Schools Board of Education was called to order at 6:30 PM. Members present: A. Parks, S. Ringenberg, N. Rogic-Greufe, J. Shatel, R. Vokt, and M. Wortman. President A. Parks noted that the meeting was governed by the Open Meetings Act, a copy of which is posted in the Board Room of the District Office. Advance notice of the Board meeting was published in the Omaha World Herald on March 3, 2025.

The meeting began with offering public comment. During the "Good News Report," R. Vokt recognized the following EPS students who were recognized as 2025 National Merit Finalists: Brayden Bae; Marvin Ci; Zachary Flynn; Nikolai Khots; Nolan King; Jonah Lubberstedt;, Mason Miller; Nivesh Reddy; Andrew Rothe; Reese Stowe; Brandon Wiltse; Argos Zhang. Congratulations to all on this academic achievement! Additionally, EVVMS students Trishul Gurumurthy, Ray Athipatla, Ben Vlcek, Kaitlyn Swanson, and Norah Hornig recently represented their school at the Nebraska Science Bowl. They earned first place in the middle school competition and qualified for the national event to be held later this spring. Congratulations to all, and thank you for representing EPS in this academic contest! Also, EPS middle school JAG students were among 450 students from across the state who recently attended the Career Development Conference. Participants received several top honors, including: Career Prep: Elkhorn Grandview (1st Place), Elkhorn Ridge (2nd Place); Financial Literacy: Elkhorn Ridge (1st Place), Elkhorn Grandview (3rd Place); Employability Skills: Elkhorn Valley View (3rd Place); Outstanding Chapter: Elkhorn Ridge (2nd Place).

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the Consent Agenda items including: approval of agenda, approval of minutes for Monday, February 10, 2025, approval of March bills for payment, and Exchange Students as presented.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes, M. Wortman - yes; R. Vokt - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by J. Shatel to accept the resignations of Coleen Cuda, Allison Fitzpatrick, Mike Gambrel, Megan Lehr, Elle Liermann, Briane McGee, Jaclyn McGovern, Pina Miceli, Laurie Mills, Lindsey Schlosser, McKenna Sorensen, Alyssa Ras, and Sherry Wilson effective at the end of the 2024-2025 contract year.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by R. Vokt to approve the appointment of Sarah Baker, Sophie Derks, Morgan Edwards, Katie Fritz, Grace Guenther, Nicole Hunter, Samuel Johnston, Jordan Knust, Maryn Phillips, Madison Pressler, Laura Scow, Lauren Smeal, Taryn Strong, Danielle Calpin, Kayla Nunnenkamp, Sydney Spanel, Dinah Claus, Kiley Junker, Brooklyn Vander Linden, and Jed Givens for the 2025-26 school year.

VOTE: A. Parks - yes; J. Shatel - yes; S. Ringenberg - yes; N. Rogic-Greufe - yes; M. Wortman - yes; R. Vokt - yes

It was moved by J. Shatel and seconded by M. Wortman to adopt Policy 407.05 - Attendance Options for Certified Employees with School-Aged Children and the Rules and Procedures to Implement Policy 407.05.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes, M. Wortman – yes

It was moved by M. Wortman and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the proposed curriculum renewal for K-5 reading language arts, including estimated materials costs of \$1,772,000. The vendor is Amplify, and the purchase includes materials and licenses for the next seven years for 14 elementary schools.

VOTE: S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes; M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes

It was moved by S. Ringenberg and seconded by N. Rogic-Greufe to approve the 2026-27 Academic Calendar as presented by the Board American Civics and Curriculum Committee.

VOTE: M. Wortman – yes; R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes

It was moved by N. Rogic-Greufe and seconded by J. Shatel to approve the preliminary Building Instructional Budget and Curriculum Adoption Budget for \$2,532,903 for the 2025-26 school year. This is a decrease of \$713,575 from the 2024-25 school year.

VOTE: R. Vokt – yes; A. Parks – yes; J. Shatel – yes; S. Ringenberg – yes; N. Rogic-Greufe – yes, M. Wortman – yes

The Board adjourned the meeting at 7:36 PM. The next Regular Monthly Meeting of the Board is scheduled for Monday, April 14, 2025, at 6:30 PM, in the Board Room at the District Office, 20650 Glenn Street, Elkhorn, NE 68022.